Leaving A Legacy For Your Children

Recently I had the opportunity of attending a non denominational women prayer meeting called, ‘WHEN WOMEN PRAY’. You see I am someone that likes going to an all women fellowship or gathering because I love being in the midst of women praising, worshiping, praying and desperately crying out to God. When you are in such a gathering you are unmindful of the nearest woman because you don’t wanna know what brought her there. Again, I love attending such meetings because I am a Vice President in my Chapter of Sisters’ Fellowship International (SFI). Hmmm? My Chapter is known as Area 3 Favoured Chapter, Garki, Abuja. Being a leader in my fellowship, I like going to these gatherings so as to get the best in those meetings and duplicating what I saw in my Chapter. Now back to my encounter at WWP and what prompted this write -up. A few days to my attending this meeting, I had started asking myself if as a mother I was leaving the right legacy for my children. My spirit was down and I was not happy. You see Sistas, I have a 12+ year old son that wants to be cajoled, shouted at, prompted, intimidated before he does anything and everything. He does not want to be told to do anything! He is falling behind in his grades as he is a boarder and I am not there always to remind him to read his books or copy his notes. When he came home for the holidays and he continued in the same way I went in to my closet and desperately asked God to show me where I had failed as a mother. It was a shock to me to attend WWP and hear this question, MOTHERS, WHAT KIND OF LEGACY ARE YOU LEAVING FOR YOUR CHILDREN? When the woman of God started preaching I fell down on my knees and asked God to forgive me as I saw the areas I failed as a mother. Before I go forward, I think we should define some basics.

What is a Legacy? A LEGACY is a gift or bequest that is handed down, endowed or conveyed from one person to another. It is something descendible because one comes into possession of that that is transmitted, inherited or received from from a predecessor. It is to allow or cause something originating from an ancestral source to spread between people or provide something freely and naturally. A legacy can be tangible (physical) or intangible (spiritual) in nature.  Mothers what have you left or what are you leaving behind for your children. Are we leaving, anger, stealing, gossiping, promiscuity, back-biting, coveteousness, foolish talking etc. Have you left what they will see now that you are alive. A lot of people are suffering from terrible legacies that were inherited from their predecessors, that is why you see a lot of girls jumping from one man to another because their fore-mothers probably were way ward.

We mothers spend lavishly on physical things for our children, tangible things that do not have spiritual backing. We do not leave spiritual  legacies such as LOVE, RESPECT, HONOR, INTEGRITY, WISDOM, LONG SUFFERING, HONESTY ETC. The best legacy a mother can leave for her children is JESUS, Halleluyah! When was the last time you spoke to your children about God? What do they know about God, are your kids saved? What can they say about their mother and her relationship to God?. Deuteronomy 6 v 6-9 says and I quote, ‘And these words, which I command thee this day, shall be in thine heart: And thou shalt talk of them when thou sittest in thine house, and when thou walkest by the way, and when thou liest down, and when thou risest up. And thou shalt bind them for a sign upon thine hand, and they shall be as frontlets between thine eyes. And thou shalt write them upon the posts of thy house, and on thy knees” (KJV). Tell your children about heavenly things, anytime, anywhere and anyhow. You are children’s mentor so anything you do they will copy you. You are their coach, you direct them to which path they will go.

Mothers please teach your children how to do house chores even when the child is showing himself lazy like my son, make him or her do chores, don’t surround them  with all manner of house helps, gardeners, cooks etc. In my case I kept feeling my kids were too young and by the time they were old enough they are finding it difficult to cope. Good news is that I am on top of all that now, it is tough but for the sake of my kids I will not back down. Mothers be careful the media gadgets you expose your children to. A friend of mine that works in a hospital told me of a case that frightened me. She said that three sisters ages between 3-10 were admitted into their hospital and where to undergo a procedure to repair their vagina because the girls were involved in lesbianism activities. they will finger each other three times sometimes five times in a day! At the hospital the 7 year old girl told the doctors that it was her 10 year old sister tha fingers her and then she the 7 year old fingers the 3 year old sister. The girl said they learnt all that from their mother’s IPAD! She even showed the doctor the sites they visit because she the 7 year old was playing games with her mother’s IPAD.  When the mother was called in all she was doing was to shout, “these children have killed me o!” I ask where was she when all these were happening, how come she did not say no to her children using her IPAD? Mothers please protect your children from all these information technology. We allow them to watch and listen to anything and everything. Discipline your children, know how to say no when it is necessary. It is not everything they ask that you give them.

Examples abound in the bible of parents that did not leave good legacies for their children. 1. Eli (1 Sam 3 v 13). ” 2. Lot (Gen 19 v 30 – 38). 3. Samuel (1 Sam 8 v 3-5). 4. David (1 Kings 1 v 6)

Lastly mothers let us be prayerful, Lamentation 2 v 19 said, “Arise, cry out in the night, as the watches of the night begin: pour out your heart like water in the presence of the Lord. Lift up your hands to him for the lives of your children, who faint from hunger at every street corner” (MSG). Mothers, Sistas, Girlfriends and Aunts intercede for your children, declare days of fasting for your children, wake up in the middle of the night and desperately cry out to God to take care of your children. Deposit constantly in the bank of heaven prayers that will sustain your children while you are alive and years after you are gone. That to me is the best legacy a mother can leave for her children. 

One thought on “Leaving A Legacy For Your Children

  1. Pingback: Leaving A Legacy For Your Children | Today's Sistas

Leave a Reply

