Finding my time in His Presence 1

“But when you pray, go into your (most) private room, and closing the door, pray to your

Father who is in secret, and your  Father who sees in secret will reward you in the open” Matt 6v6 AMP.

Hmm, sistas, when I tried to establish a regular quiet time with God, a lot of drama took place o. I made an announcement in my home  one day (by the way I have three kids, two boys and a girl), see sistas don’t bother about their ages but when this event took place they very little. Ahem, back to the announcement, I told my kids that I their mummy was looking for somewhere in the house I will be meeting Jesus  to pray. The reason for carrying my kids along in this search was because if a place was found and mummy goes to stay with Jesus, there will be no distractions. Eventually a little corner was  identified by my daughter in my room and she immediately called it “NATURES CORNER”. Now if you went to primary school in the 80’s like I did, you will understand what a natures corner was, my daughter was not born then but in my home  precisely in the kitchen, a small corner like that existed where I  planted beans, onions, yam, Irish potato okro etc. I gave the corner that name and my kids adopted the name, so my little corner became natures corner. Now in my natures corner, my kids helped mummy put a chair, a table, my bible and all my devotionals, my bible marker and a rug for my feet. Comfy you  will say.  My kids were running from pillar to post to make where mummy will be meeting Jesus comfortable. They also got a chair for Jesus! After all Jesus will not stand up while talking to mummy.

The first day, which was during my kids holiday as schools were out, I fed them and put cartoon on DSTV to occupy them and so thinking I got everything covered, I went into my room and closed the door. I did not lock the door because I felt my kids and I had an understanding. Closed doors are usually irresistible to small children like mine and I made the mistake of telling mine I wanted some time alone with God. My kids like yours  and every other woman’s child within the age bracket of mine then could not resist the opportunity of seeing God talking to mummy. I had barely reached my natures corner when I saw noses peeking under the door. Notes started appearing under my door for one emergency or the other. Stay tuned for the part two.

Leave a Reply

